just a thought: #18

by iren monkey

i’ve always wondered why some people are satisfied with being “fine”.  do they not feel like robots just going through the motions of life?  do they not feel like they’re just waiting for the clock to stop ticking and just go about their day in schedules and tasks with no end?  how is that living?  how is that enough?  i’ve always held onto anything that evoked an extreme emotion: extreme happiness, extreme sadness, extreme anger, extreme love…anything that made me feel like i’m alive. most have accused me of loving the drama or excitement, and i can attest that it just might look that way…but really, i just can’t stand feeling like i live a mundane and passionless existence. i like to surround myself with all the souls, sights, sounds, and situations that remind me of my capacity to learn more about myself, others, and the world.  it keeps me humble yet it gives me so much pride to discover the vastness of my own understanding.  life is a paradox, right?  life’s also supposed to be worth living.  call me idealistic…but at least i have something to look forward to everyday.  look forward with me…

